Celebrate Women-In-Yoga!

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Newsletters
You are currently viewing Celebrate Women-In-Yoga!

Imagine a world with equality between genders.
A world free of bias, stereotypes, and discrimination.
A world that is diverse, equitable, and inclusive.
A world where difference is valued and celebrated.
Together we can forge women’s equality.
Collectively we can all #BreakTheBias through YOGA.

Join us at this epic annual gathering, celebrating Int’l Women’s Day and Women’s History Month, next Sunday, March 6.

Our Second Annual “Women-in-Yoga Empowerment Conference” will unite global, like-minded women leaders of international yoga organizations and communities, who will join forces to deliver a thought-provoking dialogue and practice sessions that we hope will inspire you to #BreakTheBias with yoga.

Please check out this year’s stellar line up below!  

Registration is $25 and donations are strongly encouraged for those that can give more. Scholarships are available for a 50% discount on the base registration fee. Please email info@yogagivesback.org to receive a coupon code. 

Funds raised from event registration and donations will be split evenly amongst the 3 participating non-profit organizations to empower underserved women in India and victims of sexual abuse and violence globally. Click on the following links to learn about the inspiring work of these incredible charities: Exhale to InhaleYogaAid and Yoga Gives Back.

Even if you can not join, you can donate and receive the REPLAY of the entire day. Let’s come together and make a difference and empower each other as WOMEN-IN-YOGA! 

This event joins the International Women’s Day global campaign.

*Refer to the SCHEDULE OF THE DAY below. Please check your local time with timezone converter

8 a.m. PST/ 11a.m. EST/ 4 p.m. GMT
OPENING & HOST ORGANIZATIONS INTRODUDTION(30 minutes)
Kayoko Mitsumatsu (Yoga Gives Back), Erica Barth (Exhale to Inhale),
Melanie Klein (Yoga and Body Image Coalition)
Monisha Raja (YogaAid)

8:30 a.m. PST/ 11:30 a.m. EST/ 4:30 p.m. GMT
PANEL “YOGA & ACTIVISM” (45 minutes)
Kallie SchutJammella AndersonJocelyn Solomon, Julie FernandezMelanie Klein (Moderator)A dynamic discussion on the ways yoga and social activism intersect including an exploration of the ways women have expanded, strengthened and empowered other women through their work and leadership.

9:30 a.m. PST/12:30p.m. EST/ 5:30 p.m. GMT
CHANTING (30 minutes)
Kamini Natarajan

10 a.m. PST/ 1p.m. EST/ 6p.m. GMT
TRAUMA HEALING YOGA (30 minutes)
Jenna Conner (Introduction), Ailen Pedraza (Practice)
Exhale to Inhale brings trauma-informed yoga to shelters and agencies that support survivors of domestic and sexual violence.  Hear more about what it means to be trauma-informed as a yoga teacher, and join us in a 15 minute, restorative practice.

11a.m.PST/ 2p.m. EST/7p.m GMT
THE YOGA OF MOTHERHOOD: DIALOGUE & PRACTICE (1 hour)
Pranidhi VarshneyHolly LeeverAlexandra SouthMeredith Fogg Liberos, Alana Adye-Jones
Join five mothers fluent in yoga practice as we discuss how motherhood shapes our practice and redefines our conceptions of yoga itself, from the divine to the mundane. After an engaging dialogue, we’ll offer a diverse set of practices designed to energize and nourish those attending. All are welcome.

Noon PST/ 3p.m. EST/ 8 p.m. GMT
AYURVEDA COOKING CLASS (40 minutes)
Sandhiya Ramaswamy
This fun and engaging cooking class with Sandhiya takes us on an educational journey into balanced eating through the science of Ayurveda. An Ayurveda health & life coach, plant-based chef, spiritual mentor and India retreat guide, she offers her services under the platform of Alchemy Ayurveda.

12:45 p.m. PST/ 3:45 p.m. EST/ 8:45 p.m. GMT
GUIDED MEDITATION (30 minutes)
Dr. Romie Mushtaq, MD
Dr. Romie survived career burnout and life-saving surgery in 2010 that sent her on a worldwide journey to learn mindfulness-based techniques for healing.   She is now on a mission to transform health in the workplace and currently works with Fortune 500 companies, professional athletes, & global associations. Dr. Romie will guide us through an interactive mindfulness and meditation exercise, to foster self-compassion and increase the consciousness globally. 

1:15 p.m. PST/ 4:15 p.m. EST/ 9:15 p.m. GMT
PANEL “YOGA & SISTERHOOD” (45 minutes)
Mirabelle D’CunhaNadine MacNeilNina RaoNubia Teixeira,  Felicia Tomasko (Moderator)What does SISTERHOOD mean in YOGA? Are we essentially practicing a system for males? How can SISTERHOOD in YOGA overcome body image, jealousy, competitiveness, mysogny, and gender-based discrimination? In this special session, diverse global panelists will dive into an honest dialogue about how women yoga practitioners can play a role in the liberation of women across the planet with YOGA.

2 p.m. PST/ 5 p.m. EST/ 10 p.m. GMT
CHANTING (30 minutes)
Nina RaoNina will lead in chanting the Names of the sacred feminine which we all embody. 

Kayoko and Monisha will close this special day reflecting what we have learned from it and what we envision for the next year! CHECK DETAILS & REGISTER